, , ,

On Wednesday 12th July 2017 the renewed Timber Industries All-Party Parliamentary Group held its inaugural meeting at the House of Commons in London.

Timber Industries APPG July 2017

Roy Wakeman

David Hopkins, Managing Director of the Timber Trade Federation (TTF) and Member of CTI Board of Directors, explained the contribution of the Timber Industry to the UK economy. He spoke about the importance of maintaining sustainable timber procurement after the UK leaves the European Union, as well as timber’s use in housing and construction.


Timber Industries APPG




Following its AGM, the All Party Parliamentary Group for the Timber Industries agreed its new list of officers.

Ian Paisley, MP for North Antrim, was re-elected as Chairman. Officers now include Joint Vice Chairman Bill Grant MP for Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock (Conservatives), Joint Vice Chairman Martin Whitfield MP for East Lothian (Labour) and Joint Vice Chairman Andrew Bowie MP for West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine (Conservative).

Timber Industries APPG July 2017


The Timber Industries APPG will help promote timber as the most sustainable and renewable building material and develop initiatives and economic measures to grow the whole UK Timber Industry supply chain.


The Confederation of Timber Industries will assist Parliamentarians in their work by acting as the group’s secretariat and providing relevant information and logistic support.


View the complete photo gallery of the event here.